2021 Idea Awards for Theatre

Congratulations to the brilliant poet, playright, collaborator and dear friend Jessica Hagedorn for winning the 2021 Idea Awards for Theatre! Congratulations to the other winners as well! 

The Bret Adams and Paul Reisch Foundation has announced the recipients of their 2021 Idea Awards for Theatre. 

Jessica Hagedorn, Cherríe Moraga, Agyeiwaa Asante, Haruna Lee, OyamO, Kirsten Childs, Troy Anthony, and Jay Adana and Zeniba Now are this year’s recipients.

Jessica Hagedorn is a Filipina American novelist, poet, screenwriter, and editor. Her work for the stage includes adaptations of Dogeaters and The Gangster of Love, as well as collaborations with Urban Bushwomen, Michael Gregory Jackson, Ntozake Shange and Thulani Davis for Where the Mississippi Meets the Amazon.

Michael Gregory Jackson